
Well, todays my birthday and I'm now (an old) 43. Guess what? I'm so lucky, I've just had an email sent to the email address I use for IMM, telling me that I've just won a share in the UK Lottery! Wow!
I know that the scammers got my email address from here because I use a different email address for every site I post to! Gotcha!
Here's the first part of the email:
The National LotteryPO Box 1010Liverpool L70 1NL United Kingdom.Ref: XYL /26510460037/05Batch: 24/00319/IPD
WINNING NOTIFICATION
We happily announce to you the draw (#1071) of the UK NATIONAL LOTTERY,
online Sweepstakes International program held on saturday 1st July2007. Your e-mail address attached to ticket number: 56475600545188 with Serial number 5368/02 drew the lucky numbers: 02 06 18 36 37 44 19 (Bonus ball) which subsequently won you the lottery in the 1st category i.e match 6 plus bonus . You have therefore been approved to claim a total sum of £2,696,385 (Two Million Six Hundred and Ninety SixThousand,Three Hundred and Eighty Five Britain pounds sterlings) in cash credited to file XYL/26510460037/05
This is from a total cash prize of £7,596,411 (Seven Million, Five Hundred And Ninety Six Thousand, Four Hundred And Eleven Pounds Sterling) shared amongst the Three (3) lucky winners in this category i.e match 6 plus bonus. All participants for the online version wereselected randomly from World Wide Web sites through computer draw system and extracted from over 100,000 unions, associatons and co-oporate bodies that are listed online.
Aren't I lucky? £2,696,385. All mine. Not.
I checked through the email's headers (a bit technical for this post - but if you want to know how to do it, let me know and I'll show you) - and this is the report:
X-Apparently-To: knightrider45@btinternet.com via 217.146.188.100; Sat, 30 Jun 2007 19:11:23 +0000
X-Originating-IP: [205.152.59.65]
Authentication-Results: mta833.mail.ukl.yahoo.com from=bellsouth.net; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 205.152.59.65 (EHLO imf17aec.mail.bellsouth.net) (205.152.59.65)
X-Originating-IP: [63.247.79.145]
From: LOTTERY BOARD
Organization: LOTTERY BOARD
To:
Subject: Your Email Address Has Won!!
Date: Sat, 30 Jun 2007 15:11:21 -0400
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-Originating-IP: [205.152.59.65]
Authentication-Results: mta833.mail.ukl.yahoo.com from=bellsouth.net; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 205.152.59.65 (EHLO imf17aec.mail.bellsouth.net) (205.152.59.65)
X-Originating-IP: [63.247.79.145]
From: LOTTERY BOARD
Organization: LOTTERY BOARD
To:
Subject: Your Email Address Has Won!!
Date: Sat, 30 Jun 2007 15:11:21 -0400
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Interesting I thought(!), so I checked out the IP Address using one of the online search engines (Again, I can show you how to do this if you want). This is that report:
Search results for: 205.152.59.65
RTechHandle: JG726-ARINRTechName: Geurin, Joe RTechPhone: +1-404-499-5240RTechEmail: ipoperations@bellsouth.net OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE81-ARINOrgAbuseName: Abuse Group OrgAbusePhone: +1-404-499-5224OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@bellsouth.net OrgTechHandle: JG726-ARINOrgTechName: Geurin, Joe OrgTechPhone: +1-404-499-5240OrgTechEmail: ipoperations@bellsouth.net # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-06-30 19:10
So, now I know who they are, and where they are. Based in Georgia, USA. A google search for Joe Geurin didn't bring anything up, so I had to probe a little deeper.Two options now, both turned up trumps.There is an excellent site called ripoffreport.com (http://www.ripoffreport.com/) and I found a lot of stuff from there, including a link to another forum which said:
There is no registered domain netrd.net. Or was it a typo? I have your IP address also, just fyi - IP Address: 68.223.33.202Name: Your conscienceEmail Address: cowards@netrd.netURL: http://www.netrn.net
OrgName: BellSouth.net Inc. OrgID: BELLAddress: 575 Morosgo DriveCity: AtlantaStateProv: GAPostalCode: 30324Country: US
OrgName: BellSouth.net Inc. OrgID: BELLAddress: 575 Morosgo DriveCity: AtlantaStateProv: GAPostalCode: 30324Country: US
So, now, I know his address and postcode.America doesn't have data laws like we do here, so I checked out various Government departments for Georgia, ending up here:
http://www.state.ga.us/and did a company search and this is their report:
CONTROL NUMBERDATE INC/AUTH/FILEDJURISDICTIONPRINT DATEFORM NUMBER
: 0400150: 01/02/2004 : GA : 06/30/2007 : 220
BUSINESS INFORMATION PRINTOUT
This information is provided without certification from the business registration database maintained by the Secretary of State as of the print date on the following entity.
SPY DELETER, INC. A PROFIT CORPORATION COMPANY
ADDRESS:4780 ASHFORD DUNWOODY RD.,#102ATLANTA , GEORGIA 30338
CEO:ROB MARTINSON
CFO:ROB MARTINSON
SEC:ROB MARTINSON
REGISTERED AGENT & OFFICE:ROB MARTINSON 4780 ASHFORD DUNWOODY RD.,#102ATLANTA , GA 30338
Date of last annual registrationStatusStatus Date
: 01/18/2005 : Diss./Cancel/Terminat :
This information is provided without certification from the business registration database maintained by the Secretary of State as of the print date on the following entity.
SPY DELETER, INC. A PROFIT CORPORATION COMPANY
ADDRESS:4780 ASHFORD DUNWOODY RD.,#102ATLANTA , GEORGIA 30338
CEO:ROB MARTINSON
CFO:ROB MARTINSON
SEC:ROB MARTINSON
REGISTERED AGENT & OFFICE:ROB MARTINSON 4780 ASHFORD DUNWOODY RD.,#102ATLANTA , GA 30338
Date of last annual registrationStatusStatus Date
: 01/18/2005 : Diss./Cancel/Terminat :
So, there you go. I've found out the person behind the scam, found out that they make money by charging people who respond to their sad emails an extortinate fee for a private courier service, then disappear. Now all I've got to do, is report them to someone, first guess is the actual Gorgia Government department I found, if not the FBI.
Scammers, don't mess with me!
Anyone else need help, just let me know, OK? I'll do what I can - it only takes 10-15 minutes - and the sooner these people are stopped, the better. The picture on this blog is the USA Government Departments Logo that I'm dealing with.
Have a good week everyone
Paul
This original posting, including any replies, can be found at:http://www.itsmymarket.com/blogs/knightrider45

No comments:
Post a Comment